Google+

Where to go from here?

3

July 3, 2012 by Vicki

I would like to discuss some general topics of concern to this blog.  I have covered a variety of types of books that are about, for and by women.  What would you like to see more of on this blog? I enjoy reading fiction and non-fiction and most genres. Did you enjoy and were you inspired by Parrot Pie for Breakfast and Boudica Britannia? Or would you prefer for me to stay with fiction such as Bridget Jones Diary and Eat, Pray, Love? Please recommend books that you would like me to review. As long as I can find the book, I will review it for you. I enjoy being exposed to a wide variety of writing.

As has been discussed before, everyone has different opinions and viewpoints. Every time someone exposes me to a different viewpoint; I learn and grow. I want this blog to be a place where women can gather, learn and share their viewpoints. One of the tragedies of the patriarchy is that so little women writing about women exist. I believe that it is past time for that to change. We can be just as critical and discerning as any male.  In order for this to happen, we must have open communication.

On this topic, please do not hesitate to comment on any of my posts. As far as commenting goes, I only have one rule. Attack ideas; not people. I will allow any comments that argue against points that I or another commenter have made. I will not allow comments that target specific people in their attack instead of ideas. Attacking the person does not make an argument against their comment. This rule applies to any male who also reads this blog. The posts and comments on this blog are not intended to attack men. They are intended to uplift women. Please feel free to argue against a position that you disagree with. It can be very healthy to have another viewpoint on a particular subject.

If there is any topic that you would like me to address in this blog; please make the suggestion in the comments section below. I don’t have cable at home, consequently, if something is happening; please don’t hesitate to mention it in a comment. I would love for our conversation to evolve beyond the theoretical.  If you have any questions about anything you see in my blog; also please don’t hesitate to ask.

I have to admit that I have been including photos of my pets with the book covers. I love them and can’t help including them in this blog.

Lucy my cuddlebug

Lucy is an American Eskimo dog and loves to cuddle more than anything else.

Tula: the spoiled cat

Tula is a very spoiled, fat black cat of indeterminate breed.  I also have a smaller dark brown cat named Shadow who I haven’t had on the bog before this post, I think.

Shadow: the crazy one

Shadow is my crazy cat. I live on the tenth floor and she likes to hang off the edge of the balcony and waive at the passer-by’s. She’s a lot harder to get to sit still which is why she hasn’t been posted before this. I was lucky and caught her napping with this one.

That’s all I really have to say for today’s post. I apologize that today was not a review. Life got in the way as it sometimes does. I will be posting my review of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice on Friday. I’m pondering another Austen novel for next Tuesday’s review. Does anyone have a request?

 

3 thoughts on “Where to go from here?

  1. Kate says:

    Thank you for your blog, Victoria, you do an excellent job of looking critically at books and situations. You enable me to see even some of my favourite books in a different light and want to read some that I have not read yet. Keep it UP!!!

Your Thoughts

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 162 other followers

Vicki

Hi, I'm the blogger behind Boudicabooks. Tour around the site and hop into the discussions. This site discusses life as a woman. The site also hosts a Book Club that investigates the lives of women through novels by women, about women, and for women.
For more information about me, check out the About the Blogger page.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The girl who keeps reading

Confessions and opinions of a book geek with a severe addiction of buying more books than she can ever read during her life time. Feel free to stay for a while and share your literary thoughts.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

BlackLit101

"Kick the truth to the young black youth,!"~HipHop

The Oracle

The Blog

Living in Other Worlds: The Life of a Fantasy Writer

A blog about writing, fantasy, and everything else.

El Space--The Blog of L. Marie

Thoughts about writing and life

kiralynblue

Overanalyzer, Ninja Squirrel Wrangler, Urban Fantasy Author

Stasha Padgett

Finding the beautiful in the usual...

Cori Wong, Ph.D.

Thinking Through Life in Transformative Ways

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Eeva Houtbeckers

Exploring post-growth self-employment

Word Flows

Creativity flows through my veins

Canada Writing Project

The Canada Writing Project is a platform on which writers can share, discuss, and critique written work; it aims to foster a love and appreciation of literary expression.

