Google+

Throwing out the Garbage

2

August 23, 2012 by Vicki

            Have you ever just wanted to Rage? Everyone is always telling you how to live your life, how to behave, and how you should organize your passions. When they’re not telling you how to be; they’re telling you that what you want and need is impossible. You can’t wear that, cut your hair, start a business, and what WILL people say? With the best intentions in the world, friends and family do their utmost to cut you down to size. What if you don’t fit their cookie cutters? Well then, they cut off pieces of you and throw them away. Not looking at what they throw away. The heart and soul that they dismiss as unimportant may very well be your center.

Why is it whenever a person wants to do something new, most people react with horror? Why can’t we reach for the stars? I’m tired of living my life the way everyone wants me to. I’m tired of asking people how I should do the things that I want to do. I’m going to do things My Way or at least, die trying. A friend once said to me “When I die, I’d rather say “I shouldn’t have done that” then “I wish I had done that.”” I don’t want to say “I wish I had done that” and at this point, I think I will.

I look at the women in my life. Most of them find themselves dissatisfied with their lives. Most of them have lived their lives according to the expectations of others. Some have even taken on the thwarted passions of their parents. All of them have had requirements drilled into their heads about what has to be included in their lives. None of them find happiness in fulfilling these requirements. So why are they requirements? According to whom? Instead of throwing ourselves away; let’s throw away these requirements that only serve to make us unhappy.

Ok, Vicki, you say, that’s all very well and good but could you give us concrete examples? Yes, yes I can. The requirement of having the perfect body. The requirement of having a significant other of the opposite sex. The requirement of having children. The requirement of having a certain degree because you’re family wants you to have it. All of these are requirements that I urge you to throw away. Now, as always, if you are truly happy in your pursuit of the above requirements then this doesn’t apply to you. If you have found your soul-mate then by all means enjoy them. But none of the above achievements are truly required of a happy life. A “perfect body” is a body that you feel comfortable in and that does what you want it to do. Having children is every woman’s choice and it should bring joy and wonder. If it doesn’t then it is not worth it. Not to you and most definitely, not to your child. Shakespeare said it best “To your own self be true.”  I believe we need to apply that to everything we do from our homes to our jobs to our lives.

2 thoughts on “Throwing out the Garbage

  1. kathryn bradshaw says:

    Good morning dear, and all I can say is Wow!!! As we discussed last night, this is very powerful stuff.mumscins Date: Fri, 24 Aug 2012 00:51:27 +0000 To: whitetornado1952@hotmail.ca

  2. Nino says:

    That’s 2 cevler by half and 2×2 clever 4 me. Thanks!

Your Thoughts

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 162 other followers

Vicki

Hi, I'm the blogger behind Boudicabooks. Tour around the site and hop into the discussions. This site discusses life as a woman. The site also hosts a Book Club that investigates the lives of women through novels by women, about women, and for women.
For more information about me, check out the About the Blogger page.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The girl who keeps reading

Confessions and opinions of a book geek with a severe addiction of buying more books than she can ever read during her life time. Feel free to stay for a while and share your literary thoughts.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

BlackLit101

"Kick the truth to the young black youth,!"~HipHop

The Oracle

The Blog

Living in Other Worlds: The Life of a Fantasy Writer

A blog about writing, fantasy, and everything else.

El Space--The Blog of L. Marie

Thoughts about writing and life

kiralynblue

Overanalyzer, Ninja Squirrel Wrangler, Urban Fantasy Author

Stasha Padgett

Finding the beautiful in the usual...

Cori Wong, Ph.D.

Thinking Through Life in Transformative Ways

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Eeva Houtbeckers

Exploring post-growth self-employment

Word Flows

Creativity flows through my veins

Canada Writing Project

The Canada Writing Project is a platform on which writers can share, discuss, and critique written work; it aims to foster a love and appreciation of literary expression.

