Google+

Women’s Art and other news

6

October 26, 2012 by Vicki

I seem to be seeking out art that speaks to me. I recently rediscovered Melissa Harris, and absolutely love her work. I also cannot wait for November 2nd’ because that’s when the Hamilton Region Potter’s Guild starts their Fall Sale. I attended their sale in the springtime and had a fantastic time.  I prefer using pottery to using ceramic. For me, it just feels more comfortable.

       I believe that what we use to decorate our home and the tools that we use everyday have an enormous effect upon the way we feel. For example, I find that drinking from a pottery mug is much more comforting then drinking from a ceramic mug. I find that pictures that use bright colours can help boost your mood. I have also found that certain art feels extremely feminine and powerful.

       I find Melissa Harris’s work to be an example of women’s art. She tends to paint images of women and she also paints women in active positions. In her pictures, women dance with leaves and reach for the stars. I find them extremely inspirational and empowering. She paints women in their ordinary lives and yet, by painting these images, she gives them strength and power. What represent women’s art to you? Have you ever felt inspired or empowered by art?

I also enjoy the works of Emily Carr. I would not, however, define most of her works as women’s art. Her works, to me, always depict nature as something threatening and unknowable. Women’s art, for me anyway, welcomes nature as a friend and ally. Emily Carr’s written work, however, I do define as women’s art as she describes the battles that she fights to be able to live her own life. One day, I plan to post a discussion on one of her autobiographies for our Book Club, if everyone is interested.

         Speaking of the Book Club, I have decided to make a scheduling change to encourage further discussion. I realized that I have not been treating the Book Club in a traditional book club fashion. Book Clubs tend to meet only once a month in order to ensure that everyone has time to read the next novel. For this reason, I have decided that I will only post Book Club discussion once every three weeks. (I don’t want to wait a full month.) I hope that will give everyone enough time to read the next scheduled novel and have an opinion that they wish to share. My next Book Club post will be on Karen Joy Fowler’s novel The Jane Austen Book Club and I will post it on November 13, 2012.

          I also hope that this scheduling change will give more space to explore women’s lives in reality as well as fiction. I want to talk about the issues that face us everyday. Please write in your recommendations for the next novel to be discussed. Also, share your opinions and thoughts on any of the issues that we have already discussed or should discuss. I love your stories and want to hear them.

6 thoughts on “Women’s Art and other news

  1. Kate says:

    May I suggest for a future Book Club post, the Diviners, by Margaret Laurence. It definitely deals with strong women and is written by one of my favourite authors, and not just because she is a Canadian woman. I enjoyed your post re Women’s Art and the reference to the Pottery Guild, Emily Carr, Melissa Harris et al. There are some very fine women artists on display at the Pottery Guild show.

  2. Gleidson says:

    I got my navel pierced at 18 years old. Had it for 4 years now. I have never once reegettrd it. On that same note, I researched all of the local studios and types of metal before having it done. It cost me $80 altogether. I also was very religious about caring for my piercing. More often than not, people don’t follow the steps that the piercing artist will advise. So then it gets all infected, disgusting, unhealthy, and ends up falling out even if it’s done professionally. Make sure you clean it with water, soap, and then soak it in sea salt water. But make sure it’s not iodized. I also have 1 tattoo and 3 ear piercings. Never had an infection or problems with any of my body modification. Just be careful to pick something that you can remove yourself If it needs to be removed surgically (like some of the strange and intense piercing styles out there) to be honest those seem to be too complex and not worth the health risk. Same with genital piercings. Ouch!

Your Thoughts

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 162 other followers

Vicki

Hi, I'm the blogger behind Boudicabooks. Tour around the site and hop into the discussions. This site discusses life as a woman. The site also hosts a Book Club that investigates the lives of women through novels by women, about women, and for women.
For more information about me, check out the About the Blogger page.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The girl who keeps reading

Confessions and opinions of a book geek with a severe addiction of buying more books than she can ever read during her life time. Feel free to stay for a while and share your literary thoughts.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

BlackLit101

"Kick the truth to the young black youth,!"~HipHop

The Oracle

The Blog

Living in Other Worlds: The Life of a Fantasy Writer

A blog about writing, fantasy, and everything else.

El Space--The Blog of L. Marie

Thoughts about writing and life

kiralynblue

Overanalyzer, Ninja Squirrel Wrangler, Urban Fantasy Author

Stasha Padgett

Finding the beautiful in the usual...

Cori Wong, Ph.D.

Thinking Through Life in Transformative Ways

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Eeva Houtbeckers

Exploring post-growth self-employment

Word Flows

Creativity flows through my veins

Canada Writing Project

The Canada Writing Project is a platform on which writers can share, discuss, and critique written work; it aims to foster a love and appreciation of literary expression.

