Google+

Accomplishments and Plans

6

November 1, 2012 by Vicki

I love the beginning of a new month. It’s a time for new resolutions, new ideas and new plans to be brought forth. I find I review the previous month and try to bring forward the positive elements while leaving behind the negative. I know we have made some serious changes on BoudicaBooks over the past month. I believe that they have all been positive ones and I hope that we can continue bringing those elements forward. Have there been any changes that you have disagreed with or found disrupting? Please comment below and let me know. I want BoudicaBooks to be a place for everyone.

Personally speaking, I have also made some serious changes this past month. I have started eating healthy and have lost twelve pounds in the process. Changing your eating habits can be a difficult struggle. My experience recommends figuring out the reasons behind your current eating habits and then applying those reasons to a healthier option.

For example, I am a snacker. I love to eat cookies, crackers, chips, chocolate bars and other goodies during the course of the day. To address this concern, II removed all of the temptations from my household and replaced them with healthier options that I enjoy. I am also lazy so I had to make sure that all of my healthy snacking options fit easily into my daily schedule. I bought sliced apples because I know that I won’t take the time to slice them when I want a snack and am not likely to want a whole apple. When I snack, I want a snack I can grab and go. So far, the changes that I have made to my eating habits have been largely successful. I still have some wrinkles to figure out but overall I think it has been a success.

Another successful change that I have made is increasing my exercise. I decided that I wanted to walk for forty minutes, twice a day. I ran into a small problem in that I hate walking in the rain. I don’t mind the cold, or the wind but I hate the rain. My solution is to climb the ten flights of stairs up to my apartment. I have found climbing the stairs to be a very intense workout that more than equals my walk. Oddly, I also enjoy it. I find real satisfaction in watching the floor levels go up as I climb past them. I guess I am giving myself gold stars for each floor that I climb. Rewarding yourself can be a very positive encouragement for change.

   Today, I start working as a freelance writer. I have been building to this point for the past couple of months but I am finally here. Well, I’m going to try my best anyway. I have been accepted by two freelance writing websites where I can search for available contracts that meet my writing abilities. I confess to being very nervous about this new change in my life. I, however, am determined to be successful in this new endeavour.

So, what changes are you making for the new month? What successes did you enjoy last month? Take this opportunity to pat yourself on the back for what you did accomplish. Too often, we worry so much about what we didn’t do that we forget to appreciate what we did accomplish. Share your stories and your accomplishments. I swear they are worth appreciating. 

6 thoughts on “Accomplishments and Plans

  1. RM Luffman says:

    “Too often, we worry so much about what we didn’t do that we forget to appreciate what we did accomplish.”

    Too true! I am the sort of person to constantly have a running ToDo list pinned to my Desktop. Things always seem to go on it much faster than they come off. I also have the bad habit of not realizing how much I’ve really accomplished until I sit down at the end of the day.

    Accomplishments:

    * I am working towards being able to have a discussion as opposed to an argument.

    * I am working on remembering to make time for myself in every day. This will include things like candles, good books, and herbal tea.

    * I am working towards accepting the painkillers are a necesary supplement to my diet.

    And yes, there’s probably a Chaos post in the works along these lines 😛

    I’m glad to hear that your month has been a productive one. Good luck with the freelance stuff!

  2. Darrence says:

    Haha. I woke up down today. You’ve chereed me up!

Your Thoughts

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 162 other followers

Vicki

Hi, I'm the blogger behind Boudicabooks. Tour around the site and hop into the discussions. This site discusses life as a woman. The site also hosts a Book Club that investigates the lives of women through novels by women, about women, and for women.
For more information about me, check out the About the Blogger page.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The girl who keeps reading

Confessions and opinions of a book geek with a severe addiction of buying more books than she can ever read during her life time. Feel free to stay for a while and share your literary thoughts.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

BlackLit101

"Kick the truth to the young black youth,!"~HipHop

The Oracle

The Blog

Living in Other Worlds: The Life of a Fantasy Writer

A blog about writing, fantasy, and everything else.

El Space--The Blog of L. Marie

Thoughts about writing and life

kiralynblue

Overanalyzer, Ninja Squirrel Wrangler, Urban Fantasy Author

Stasha Padgett

Finding the beautiful in the usual...

Cori Wong, Ph.D.

Thinking Through Life in Transformative Ways

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Eeva Houtbeckers

Exploring post-growth self-employment

Word Flows

Creativity flows through my veins

Canada Writing Project

The Canada Writing Project is a platform on which writers can share, discuss, and critique written work; it aims to foster a love and appreciation of literary expression.

