Google+

Stress

4

November 2, 2012 by Vicki

        I have discovered something surprising. Working for yourself is STRESSFUL! Today is my first full day working as a freelance writer.  It seems counter-intuitive; once you remove the Boss-factor shouldn’t you have also removed the stress. But no, working for yourself is stressful because everything relies upon you. It doesn’t matter what happens; if there is a problem I am the only one who can fix it. I am also totally responsible for noticing everything.

Would I go back to my office job: nope, not worth it. As long as I make enough money to survive, I am in this to stay. Why? Freelancing allows me to control my own hours and lets me work from a comfortable environment. If something happens that raises my stress level; I can immediately act to reduce my stress levels. In honour of this fact, I decided to write today’s post on how to manage stress.

My first recommendation for stress-relief is to make your workspace as you-friendly as possible. I have candles and incense burning and a cup of tea perpetually beside me. I also have a corkboard full of pictures, saying and tokens that all represent different aspects of my own personality. My environment helps me to decrease my stress while I am working.

Work, however, creates its own brand of stress that sometimes environments just can’t override. Once I reach that point, I grab my dog, Lucy, and head off for a walk. Dogs are wonderful listeners, and they never repeat what you tell them. J I recommend a fast-paced walk if at all possible. I want all of the energy raised by my increased stress to go into powering my walk. Once I am home again, I find myself revitalized and relaxed. Another of my secret stress relievers is to just walk away. The work will still be there in five minutes or half an hour. I will take however long necessary to stop stressing and be able to start thinking again.  I find that if I am totally stressed; I think in circles like a hamster on a wheel. I, literally, can’t see the solution. If I walk away and take a breather, then I come back and the solution jumps right out at me.

I suspect I shall need all of my stress relievers in the next couple of weeks. I have discovered my course of action has a very steep learning curve. How do you decrease stress? I really need all the solutions I can have. Also, what do you find causes the most stress in your day? Lately, mine is non-compatible technology. I use one service where I have to use one browser to upload files and a different browser to open messagesL! Share your stress busters and stress bringers in the comments down below.

4 thoughts on “Stress

  1. Kate says:

    I find that people, generally speaking, are my greatest stress inducers. Thus, the best method for me to relax and de stress is to remove myself from people. But…to be fair…it is Friday, so my level of coping with people is very low if not existent. My best de stress is to do , as you said, get
    out of doors with my puppy and move. Exercise that is enjoyable is known to be the best method to reduce and eliminate stress.

  2. RM Luffman says:

    For the in depth version of the stress triggers of my life, I will point you to http://thechaoswelivein.blogspot.ca/#!/2012/10/mental-health-i.html. As for things I do to relieve stres; while the post touches on some of them, the smallest things are the things I forget to use. Like a cup of tea, a candle, a hot bath, some soothing music, videos of my addorable nephews, light hearted banter with awesome people, a good book,or a cozy sweater.

Your Thoughts

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 162 other followers

Vicki

Hi, I'm the blogger behind Boudicabooks. Tour around the site and hop into the discussions. This site discusses life as a woman. The site also hosts a Book Club that investigates the lives of women through novels by women, about women, and for women.
For more information about me, check out the About the Blogger page.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The girl who keeps reading

Confessions and opinions of a book geek with a severe addiction of buying more books than she can ever read during her life time. Feel free to stay for a while and share your literary thoughts.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

BlackLit101

"Kick the truth to the young black youth,!"~HipHop

The Oracle

The Blog

Living in Other Worlds: The Life of a Fantasy Writer

A blog about writing, fantasy, and everything else.

El Space--The Blog of L. Marie

Thoughts about writing and life

kiralynblue

Overanalyzer, Ninja Squirrel Wrangler, Urban Fantasy Author

Stasha Padgett

Finding the beautiful in the usual...

Cori Wong, Ph.D.

Thinking Through Life in Transformative Ways

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Eeva Houtbeckers

Exploring post-growth self-employment

Word Flows

Creativity flows through my veins

Canada Writing Project

The Canada Writing Project is a platform on which writers can share, discuss, and critique written work; it aims to foster a love and appreciation of literary expression.

