Google+

Autumn

6

November 6, 2012 by Vicki

I love autumn. I, especially, love later autumn when the trees really start to change colour and the wind is crisp and cold. Warm outwear is required for any adventures and yet every adventure feels invigorating because of the cold and smells of autumn. I do not know why autumn smells wonderful. It just does. It smells like soil, pumpkins and spices. Nothing brings out these smells more than wandering through a batch of fallen leaves in a public park.

I have the excellent fortune to live within walking distance of a lovely park called “Victoria Park.” It’s located right in the heart of Hamilton. A path goes all the way around the park. My dog, Lucy, and I walk that path every day. Today, we went for a walk a little earlier than usual and the kids were just fresh from school. The school sits in front of the park and the kids all stop and play before heading home. I have to feel sorry for those kids during the day, being able to see the temptation of the park and yet having to stay in the school. That must be hard. The benefit, however, are they can have guilt-free fun in the park after school. They seemed to be having so much fun, running through the leaves and playing in the jungle gym. Even the parents looked happy as they watched their children frolic in the cold.

 

 

I live in Canada in Southern Ontario. I think the world sees Canada as a very cold place. Although it is true that in the Northern provinces our winters can be pretty crazy, we still have four seasons. I am one of those crazy people who love autumn and Winter. I could not live somewhere that I never saw snow or felt a wintry breeze. I, actually, have a mood boost from a winter’s snow. I don’t know why but it always makes me feel happy when I can walk on fresh, crisp snow. All the houses look so comfy and warm. Outside is silence. Silence is truly golden.

I am not saying that I do not complain about winter. My friends who read this blog would immediately call “foul” if I did. I am saying that despite my complaints, I truly would not be happy living without winter. Most of my complaints actually stem more from cold rain then snow. I grew up in Northern Ontario and have not accepted the slush that Southern Ontarian s believe is snow. Snow does not form puddles. Snow forms hills and forts and snowman. I also miss being able to see the sun. Winter, however, is not yet here, and the sun is out, at least in Hamilton. So go and enjoy it and may every day be as beautiful as today.

6 thoughts on “Autumn

  1. RM Luffman says:

    Snow forts is certainly something I miss from Back Home in Northern Ontario. Days when the busses didn’t run because it was too cold or too much snow meant I would spend most of my day in teh huge front yard, digging into snow drifts, creating wind barriers and little cubbies with walls thick enough to insulated against the bitter cold.

    While the cold is no good on my poor aching bones, the wet we get down here is worse. I’m looking forward to spending a week or two in the Great White North at Christmas time ❤

    You're right about fall, though. It's got to be my favourite season. And it's much too short, here. There's an extra season call Slush, that marrs the transition between fall and winter 😛 My dog and I used to spend our afternoons raking leaves at the cemetary down the road to haul back for the girls to play in, or flearing trails and gathering deadwood for night time campfires with the family.

    Gods, I miss the North…

    • Vicki says:

      I miss the North as well. Especially when that scent is in the air and its cold and brisk outside.

      • Ryan says:

        Jeff Lane here, I am Thursady’s NET control for the NEWN but in the wteinr we are snowbirds in Florida and wteinr coverage is taken over by a good friend in Vermont. . weather reports today claim 49 states have snow Florida, apparently is that no snow State . here in Clearwater it feels like real wteinr .jlane 1/13/11.

    • Darold says:

      Well put, sir, well put. I’ll certaliny make note of that.

  2. Ayelen says:

    Juha – It is for some reason nice seieng stuff buried under snow like in these pictures. I don’t have an idea why I like to see that kind of stuff.. ^^January 21, 2011 10:09 am

  3. Merlin says:

    Winter is upon us, and for many regions of the corutny that means ice, snow and of course, the joy of driving in both. Here are a few tips to keep you safe this season behind the wheel.Before you driveSafe winter driving starts before you ever leave the driveway.Check your tires. Before winter rolls around, take a look at your tires. Make sure they have on them for winter driving, and replace them if they don’t. If you live in an area that sees a lot of snow, or drive a performance car with summer tires, consider purchasing a second set of wheels with snow tires. If you have snow tires, make sure they are properly inflated and not dry rotted before putting them on.Replace your windshield wipers. I replace mine every year in the fall. Wipers are cheap you don’t have to buy the fancy $30 a piece ones. Just go one level up from the cheapest and swap them before the snow starts falling. If you live where it snows heavily and often, consider using a set of winter blades these seal the spring of the wiper in a rubber boot to keep it from freezing, clogging, and generally binding up.Top off your car’s fluids. Make sure everything is at the proper level. Oil, antifreeze, and washer fluid and use a good freeze-resistant washer fluid.Have your battery tested. You can go to any major auto parts store and have your battery tested for free. If it shows signs of going bad, replace it before the weather turns for the worse. Extreme cold (and extreme heat) put tremendous demands on your car’s battery.Also, make sure you have the following items in your vehicle somewhere during the winter:Ice scraper with a brush on one end. This is self-explanatory, I hope.Shovel. To dig yourself out if you get stuck. A compact, folding shovel is perfect.Small bag of cat litter. Traction material. Do not use the clumping kind for this.Flashlight and extra batteries. You can’t dig yourself out if you can’t see.Jumper cables. Just in case you forgot to get your battery tested or neglected to turn off your lights.First aid kit. This is a good idea to have in the car year-’round anyway.High energy, non-perishable food. A couple candy or protein bars in case you get stuck.Tire chains. Some areas require them check your local laws. See more thoughts in this article.No matter where you live with snow and ice, the state of Washington has some more helpful winter tips to get prepared .Of course, being prepared is only half the battle. !

Your Thoughts

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 162 other followers

Vicki

Hi, I'm the blogger behind Boudicabooks. Tour around the site and hop into the discussions. This site discusses life as a woman. The site also hosts a Book Club that investigates the lives of women through novels by women, about women, and for women.
For more information about me, check out the About the Blogger page.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The girl who keeps reading

Confessions and opinions of a book geek with a severe addiction of buying more books than she can ever read during her life time. Feel free to stay for a while and share your literary thoughts.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

BlackLit101

"Kick the truth to the young black youth,!"~HipHop

The Oracle

The Blog

Living in Other Worlds: The Life of a Fantasy Writer

A blog about writing, fantasy, and everything else.

El Space--The Blog of L. Marie

Thoughts about writing and life

kiralynblue

Overanalyzer, Ninja Squirrel Wrangler, Urban Fantasy Author

Stasha Padgett

Finding the beautiful in the usual...

Cori Wong, Ph.D.

Thinking Through Life in Transformative Ways

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Eeva Houtbeckers

Exploring post-growth self-employment

Word Flows

Creativity flows through my veins

Canada Writing Project

The Canada Writing Project is a platform on which writers can share, discuss, and critique written work; it aims to foster a love and appreciation of literary expression.

