Google+

The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler

2

November 13, 2012 by Vicki

When I first started reading The Jane Austen Book Club, I hated it. I found the pace of the novel very disjointed. I also found the combination of Jane Austen’s stories and the novel’s story off-putting. However, I also could not stop thinking about that story. I kept wondering about the array of characters and how they interacted with each other. Consequently, I kept reading and learning more about each of the characters. By the time I finished the novel, I absolutely loved it.

I will confess that I watched the movie before I read the book, which is always a mistake. The movie assumed a large license when translating the book. I assumed that certain events would occur because I had watched the movie. When the events did not occur, I felt off-balance. I could enjoy reading the story once I realized that it had nothing in common with the movie. As a general note, I advise avoiding watching a movie if you desire to read the book.

At first, I also found it difficult to understand the group dynamics within The Jane Austen Book Club. Karen Fowler does a fantastic job of giving the reader the bare minimum description of the various characters. Each person you meet in the story seems wildly different from the others. We learn that Bernadette is the eldest of the group and has decided to let herself go and not worry about appearances. Sylvia is going through a divorce and has known Jocelyn since they were twelve. Jocelyn has a long history of setting up other people. During the first meeting, we don’t know anything about Griggs except that he has very long lashes. From this basic knowledge, Karen Fowler then develops our understanding through their interactions. At the beginning of the novel, I felt like I had just met these individuals. By the end of the novel, they had become my best friends who I had know forever. Usually novels give you a full character description within the first few chapters. With The Jane Austen Book Club, the reader meets the characters and learns their history and personality in a more natural way.

One of these new best friends I did not even have the privilege of meeting in the novel. The character of Jane Austen permeates the entire book. Each character’s understanding of her, however, is completely different. Only her novels and the history of Jane Austen remain the same.  This discrepancy shows us how we actually learn about other people and form opinions about them. We focus on the elements of a personality that we can identify with and then form our opinions from there. I can’t help wondering what that says about our understanding of each other and our own histories. How do different people see us? Where does the truth exist?

I picked the Jane Austen Book Club because I wanted to examine reading about reading. Each character has a different experience of the various books and shares that experience with the group. Their different experiences show us that each reader’s understanding of The Jane Austen Book Club will also be different. Some of us will adore Bernadette and her many husbands, while others will find her tedious and long-winded. Griggs involvement in the book club may strike some as intrusive, while others will love his honesty and his sisters. Reading about reading forces us to realize these differences and thus be more aware of our own biases. At least, that’s my opinion.  What do you think happens when reading about reading? Are you made more aware? Who was your favourite character and why?

2 thoughts on “The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler

  1. shaunagh61 says:

    I loved the idea that Jane Austen’s novels could illuminate truths in our times and Joy Fowler was very clever in showing this. I liked the book but actually preferred the movie which is quite unusual. It just shows that reading about reading can give further insight. Hey I have a blog that also fits in with this idea of reading about reading. Check it out I’m just beginning my blogging journey.

  2. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    I am not sure if I have read a book about reading. It seems a bit weird. I may agree with you though that talking about a certain topic would make us think about our actions relating to that, and it doesn’t exclude reading.

Your Thoughts

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 162 other followers

Vicki

Hi, I'm the blogger behind Boudicabooks. Tour around the site and hop into the discussions. This site discusses life as a woman. The site also hosts a Book Club that investigates the lives of women through novels by women, about women, and for women.
For more information about me, check out the About the Blogger page.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The girl who keeps reading

Confessions and opinions of a book geek with a severe addiction of buying more books than she can ever read during her life time. Feel free to stay for a while and share your literary thoughts.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

BlackLit101

"Kick the truth to the young black youth,!"~HipHop

The Oracle

The Blog

Living in Other Worlds: The Life of a Fantasy Writer

A blog about writing, fantasy, and everything else.

El Space--The Blog of L. Marie

Thoughts about writing and life

kiralynblue

Overanalyzer, Ninja Squirrel Wrangler, Urban Fantasy Author

Stasha Padgett

Finding the beautiful in the usual...

Cori Wong, Ph.D.

Thinking Through Life in Transformative Ways

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Eeva Houtbeckers

Exploring post-growth self-employment

Word Flows

Creativity flows through my veins

Canada Writing Project

The Canada Writing Project is a platform on which writers can share, discuss, and critique written work; it aims to foster a love and appreciation of literary expression.

