Google+

Reality Check

2

February 1, 2013 by Vicki

eye-md

It’s time for a reality check and a more realistic Action Plan. I had completely unrealistic expectations of what I could accomplish while attempting to move. I allowed these unrealistic expectations to weigh me down until I struggled against depression. I have recreated my Action Plan to reflect a more realistic and me-oriented plan.

Success Resolutions

 1.Be Vicki

I need to be honest about myself to myself. I need to determine what my NEEDS are and ensure that those NEEDS are provided. One of those NEEDS is to take time for myself where I do what I want for me.

 2. Be Honest

I also need to be honest with other people about my NEEDS and BOUNDARIES. I tend to get into trouble when I stop being honest with other people in order to “play nice.” I would rather be brutally honest than simmer with resentment.

 3. Be Healthy

Right now, this means being aware of my own stress levels and finding ways to lower stress. I will worry about my weight after I have moved and settled.

 4. Be Creative

My creativity helps to lower my stress. I love writing and NEED to be able to express myself. I do not, however, have either the time or coping mechanisms available to start a new project. Not to mention, I will have packed everything away.

 5. Your Attitude is Gratitude

I have to focus on the positive instead of worrying all of the time. I can’t do anything about either the FUTURE or the PAST, all I can effect the PRESENT. The PRESENT is a gift that I should appreciate, not a chore to be gotten through.

 6. Let Go of the Past

I can’t go back to the PAST. I have to live in the PRESENT. Those that I miss would want me to continue living my life instead of grieving their loss.

 7. Be Ready to Move by February 21, 2013

Twenty days and counting. Anyone know where I can get more boxes?

we can do itPlans

 1. Take Time for Myself

Whether it be an hour or an evening, I need to take time out and enjoy myself.

 2. Write 500 Words Per Day

My new plan for writing both my blogs and my novel is to write 510 words a day instead of rushing to complete a blog post on the due date. I can write 500 words a day and still have plenty of time to pack, clean, and organize as well as live my LIFE.

3. Keep a Daily Journal

A journal helps me to both be honest with myself and with others. It also helps with lowering my stress. I can write out my problems in my journal and find the solution without stressing myself or anyone else. I can also find things to be grateful for that I might now acknowledge otherwise.

 4. Pack a Little Bit Each Day

If I pack every day then everything will be ready when it is time to move. I will not need to stress myself out trying to pack everything on the last day or week before.

2 thoughts on “Reality Check

  1. Good plan! I like your comment about being brutally honest instead of simmering with resentment. I’m trying to do this with others as well. Good luck moving!

Your Thoughts

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 162 other followers

Vicki

Hi, I'm the blogger behind Boudicabooks. Tour around the site and hop into the discussions. This site discusses life as a woman. The site also hosts a Book Club that investigates the lives of women through novels by women, about women, and for women.
For more information about me, check out the About the Blogger page.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The girl who keeps reading

Confessions and opinions of a book geek with a severe addiction of buying more books than she can ever read during her life time. Feel free to stay for a while and share your literary thoughts.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

BlackLit101

"Kick the truth to the young black youth,!"~HipHop

The Oracle

The Blog

Living in Other Worlds: The Life of a Fantasy Writer

A blog about writing, fantasy, and everything else.

El Space--The Blog of L. Marie

Thoughts about writing and life

kiralynblue

Overanalyzer, Ninja Squirrel Wrangler, Urban Fantasy Author

Stasha Padgett

Finding the beautiful in the usual...

Cori Wong, Ph.D.

Thinking Through Life in Transformative Ways

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Eeva Houtbeckers

Exploring post-growth self-employment

Word Flows

Creativity flows through my veins

Canada Writing Project

The Canada Writing Project is a platform on which writers can share, discuss, and critique written work; it aims to foster a love and appreciation of literary expression.

