Google+

Chick Flicks and Dog Dish Movies

5

May 3, 2013 by Vicki

woman-with-speech-bubble-mdHollywood creates movies to attract a certain gender. Different movies focus on different genders with some attempting to please both male and female viewers, and others focusing on either the female or male audience. Movies intended for female audiences tend to be labelled as “Chick Flicks” by male viewers who avoid them as much as they can. In response to this derogatory term, I created a term “Dog Dish Movies” for male-oriented films. Personally, I do not have a problem with either term. I find it is as informative as any genre label.

 

Speed (1994 film)

Speed (1994 film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

What do I mean by “Dog Dish Movies?” A true dog dish movie central focus is the good guy winning via the use of copious amounts of violence. My stereotypical example of a dog dish movie is Speed. In it, the main male protagonist proves that you can win by using brawn over brains. We start the movie with an explosion and a man getting his leg shot off. We have a high speed chase in which they literally cannot slow down. Finally, at the end of the film, the sexy female protagonist informs the male protagonist that, although they could not possibly have a meaningful relationship; they will always have sex. Basically, the male viewer, through the male protagonist, experiences all the thrills that he wishes he could have.

 

I, however, love dog dish movies. Speed is one of my all time favourite movies. Why do I love dog dish movies if they are geared toward men? Well, first of all, there’s the eye candy. In order for it to be believable that these men can accomplish great deeds, they have to be gorgeous. I have no complaints about spending two hours watching a gorgeous body. Secondly, sometimes I want to be able to shut off my brain and watch things blow up without any repercussions in the real world. When watching a dog dish movie, you know the good guy is going to win. Your pulse races and you become excited with the movie but, in the back of

 

Lethal Weapon

Lethal Weapon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

your head, you know you’ve got a happy ending. It’s therapeutic to be able to watch bad guys come to violent ends. We can substitute the villains in our own lives for just that small second, for the villain in the film. Thirdly, dog dish movies tend to be hilarious. Boon Dock Saints is the perfect example of this. Some of the lines in that movie had me rolling on the floor laughing. Other dog dish classics include the Lethal Weapon series, the Die Hard series, the Terminator series, the James Bond series and any movie with Steven Segal or Vin Diesel in it. Dog dish movies have their place in entertainment for men and women.

 

Cover of "Must Love Dogs (Widescreen Edit...

Cover of Must Love Dogs (Widescreen Edition)

 

Chick flicks also have their place in entertainment. I love to watch movies I know are going to make me feel better. My personal favourite chick flick is Must Love Dogs with John Cusack and Diane Lane. It never fails to cheer me up when I am feeling sorry for myself. It refreshes my belief in the world. I, personally, don’t understand the desire to watch movies that make you cry. I hate crying for any reason. I did, however, love the movie The Notebook despite the fact that it made me cry. Chick flicks teach us about real life and the struggles that human beings suffer through. Alzheimer’s is a disease that many people and their loved have to struggle with. Chick flicks also deal with spiritual issues such as Eat, Pray, Love where the main protagonist had to find her place in the world. Even Momma Mia, which to all appearances is just a silly movie, also deals with the difficulty of letting your child go when she finally grows up. When I saw it in the theatre, I was with two mothers who simply could not stop crying because they identified so much with the mother. Chick flicks tend to discuss real problems experienced by human beings , not supermen. Yes, those human beings tend to be ridiculously wealthy but that’s a rant for a different day.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Chick Flicks and Dog Dish Movies

  1. L. Marie says:

    I love the term “dog dish movie.” I enjoy many of them (Speed especially). But I simply can’t get into others. Loved The Chronicles of Riddick–can’t take The Fast and the Furious.

    • Vicki says:

      I think it works. I have never seen the Chronicles of Riddic but I am still looking for them. I used to work for a car company so I enjoy watching fast cars but I can understand why people who don’t care about cars would dislike The Fast and the Furious.

  2. I truly enjoy reading on this website, it holds great blog posts. “One should die proudly when it is no longer possible to live proudly.” by Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche.

  3. enter site says:

    This is the fitting blog for anybody who desires to search out out about this topic. You realize a lot its nearly exhausting to argue with you (not that I truly would need…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Great stuff, simply nice!

Your Thoughts

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 162 other followers

Vicki

Hi, I'm the blogger behind Boudicabooks. Tour around the site and hop into the discussions. This site discusses life as a woman. The site also hosts a Book Club that investigates the lives of women through novels by women, about women, and for women.
For more information about me, check out the About the Blogger page.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The girl who keeps reading

Confessions and opinions of a book geek with a severe addiction of buying more books than she can ever read during her life time. Feel free to stay for a while and share your literary thoughts.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

BlackLit101

"Kick the truth to the young black youth,!"~HipHop

The Oracle

The Blog

Living in Other Worlds: The Life of a Fantasy Writer

A blog about writing, fantasy, and everything else.

El Space--The Blog of L. Marie

Thoughts about writing and life

kiralynblue

Overanalyzer, Ninja Squirrel Wrangler, Urban Fantasy Author

Stasha Padgett

Finding the beautiful in the usual...

Cori Wong, Ph.D.

Thinking Through Life in Transformative Ways

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Eeva Houtbeckers

Exploring post-growth self-employment

Word Flows

Creativity flows through my veins

Canada Writing Project

The Canada Writing Project is a platform on which writers can share, discuss, and critique written work; it aims to foster a love and appreciation of literary expression.

