Google+

Not Fitting In

Leave a comment

November 15, 2013 by Vicki

girl-jumping-upside-down-mdSince moving to Southern Ontario from Northern Ontario when I was in grade six, I have not fit in. In high school, I had the nickname “Mouse” because I spoke so rarely and when I did speak, I spoke very softly. I kept to myself and focused on my studies. My social anxiety stopped me from being able to make real friends. Instead I sought out people who were safe to hang out with. Generally, I would drift around outcasts like me who weren’t angry about being outcasts. I quickly learned the best way was to blend into the background. No one targets the silent one who doesn’t react.

girl-friendship-mdI made my first real friend in Southern Ontario in Grade 11. She was in Grade 9 and extremely socially awkward. Everyone seemed to pick on her and, to my surprise, I found myself defending her. In return, she became my closest friend for many years. She had recently moved down from Newfoundland just as I had moved down from Northern Ontario. Neither one of us belonged in Southern Ontario. We both saw things differently than the majority of our peers. We didn’t care about the latest fashion or the latest game system. We cared about each other, our families, and surviving another year of high school.

1195430130203966891liftarn_Writing_My_Master_s_Words.svg.medOnce out of high school, however, I found out that I still didn’t fit. I went to McMaster University in the Humanities and believed that I would finally find people of similar interests and concerns. Instead, I found that most people wanted to find the easiest way to do least amount of work and still pass. I remember one of my classmates wrote the same essays for seven different classes. I, on the other hand, wanted to learn about everything. My classes fascinated me and I covered everything from the Classics to Counter Cultures and Shakespeare to “Tracing the Sacred.” My studies enwrapped me and I ignored the simple fact that I still did not belong.

hands-65342_1280Unsurprisingly, now that I am out of Academia and in the real world, I still don’t fit. I don’t want to go out drinking. I get bored silly at most parties. I have no interest in sports or any group activity. What I have learned is to focus on the quality of my friends over the quantity of my friends. Would I want to belong – not really, the world is much more interesting from my vantage point.

Embrace worldI have become an observer of people. I watch others act out their own dramas and wonder at the beauty of human relations. I love going to the local downtown mall and just walking through observing. I see old friends re-uniting with hugs and wild gesticulations. I watch families help each other with the weekly shopping. Young love blooms in aisle 9 at the Grocery store over a pack of gum. I see people of different races and ethnicities working together and helping each other and wonder about the racism in the world. Most people don’t seem to notice the small miracles surrounding them, but I don’t fit so I notice everything.

Your Thoughts

Bloglovin’

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 162 other followers

Vicki

Hi, I'm the blogger behind Boudicabooks. Tour around the site and hop into the discussions. This site discusses life as a woman. The site also hosts a Book Club that investigates the lives of women through novels by women, about women, and for women.
For more information about me, check out the About the Blogger page.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The girl who keeps reading

Confessions and opinions of a book geek with a severe addiction of buying more books than she can ever read during her life time. Feel free to stay for a while and share your literary thoughts.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

BlackLit101

"Kick the truth to the young black youth,!"~HipHop

The Oracle

The Blog

Living in Other Worlds: The Life of a Fantasy Writer

A blog about writing, fantasy, and everything else.

El Space--The Blog of L. Marie

Thoughts about writing and life

kiralynblue

Overanalyzer, Ninja Squirrel Wrangler, Urban Fantasy Author

Stasha Padgett

Finding the beautiful in the usual...

Cori Wong, Ph.D.

Thinking Through Life in Transformative Ways

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Kristen Hope Mazzola

Everyone has a story; this is mine

The Elementalist Epoch

Stories and Poems from the mind of Tristan Nagler

Eeva Houtbeckers

Exploring post-growth self-employment

Word Flows

Creativity flows through my veins

Canada Writing Project

The Canada Writing Project is a platform on which writers can share, discuss, and critique written work; it aims to foster a love and appreciation of literary expression.

